The Rotary Club of Bega held its annual Changeover Dinner on June 24th, when the position of President changed hands. Two awards were also presented to members of the community who exemplify community service.
Special guest, Dr. Michael Moore, outgoing District Governor, travelled down from Canberra to pass over the presidency from Dorothea Polonyi to Anne Ducray.
Helen Slater was presented with a Community Award for her service to the Bega Valley over many years. Helen is a prominent member of the Bega community and has worked tirelessly on many projects. She sits on the Board of the Bega Nursing Home, is instrumental in making wreaths every year for Anzac Day services, has been involved with the Showground Committee and almost single-handedly caters for funerals in the Bega District.
John Hamilton was recognised as a 'Paul Harris Fellow' for his personal input to Rotary and for exemplifying "the humanitarian objectives of the Rotary Foundation", Past President, Dorothea Polonyi said.
Ms Polonyi reflected that although it had been a hard year, she was proud of how Rotarians had worked together and that the project to upgrade the Bega Evacuation Centre amenities block was up and running.
New President, Anne Ducray, acknowledged the work of the previous two presidents, Ms Polonyi and Phil Elsey, who both held Bega Rotary together after the bushfires and through the evolving pandemic.
Anne has been president of two other Rotary Clubs, but Bega is her home and her community, having known some of the members for 25 years.
We all welcome Anne into her role and look forward to the Rotary year ahead under her leadership.